Thai Riffic

Where’s My Peanut Sauce?
Location: Library Mall
By: Stephanie

I’m a big fan of Thai food. It’s usually my ethic food of choice when I order out, so I was naturally drawn to this cart. With only 4 menu options I felt a little limited, but everything on the menu was familiar so I figured I couldn’t go wrong. After wavering back and forth between Pad Thai and Curry Fried Rice, I went for the Pad Thai. I’m always a sucker for the bold peanut flavors in Thai food and I was craving just that, so I was excited to get my peanut fix. The woman in front of me ordered a bright orange iced drink–I was intrigued. She said it was Thai iced tea and that it was “really really good”, so I trusted my fellow food cart eater and decided to splurge and get that as well.

Thai Riffic food cart in Library Mall

I opened up my styrofoam carton and was happy with the amount of noodles I had–the pile was heaping! I paid $6 for my Pad Thai and $2 for my Thai iced tea and barely had to wait 2 minutes! I was impressed thus far. I got lunch with Megan (she had Surco Peruvian) so we took a sunny spot on Bascom Hill and started eating.

I have to admit, at first bite I was happy, but the more I ate the more disappointed I got. There was no peanut-y flavor like the menu had promised (and I had hoped); the noodles were kind of bland and the veggies were barely prominent in the dish. The Pad Thai also came with tofu (which I like and there was plenty of), but it hadn’t taken on any flavors in the dish so it was pretty bland as well. It was also apparent that the Pad Thai was pre-made (which was a bummer since I thought that most carts would make things like this to order) but while waiting for my food I saw a huge pile of ready-to-serve Pad Thai sitting just inside the cart.

My Pad Thai and Thai iced tea

I thought that perhaps the Thai iced tea would redeem my meal, but it didn’t. I’m always open to new flavors, but this is one I wouldn’t get again. The bright orange iced tea was extremely sweet, and even though I love sweet stuff, my iced tea tasted like a weird candy. I couldn’t drink any more after I had barely finished 1/3 of the glass so I had to throw it away. In the end, after eating for about 20 minutes and pretty much finishing my food, I felt kind of full and not satisfied. I decided to go get a smoothie to top off my meal so I could redeem myself just a little.

Since I really do enjoy Thai food, I’d give Thai Riffic another shot, but I don’t think I’d get the Pad Thai again.

Deliciousness: 2/5 plates

Price: 3/5 plates

Speed: 4/5 plates

Authenticity/Originality: 2/5 plates

OVERALL: 3/5 plates

5 Comments

Filed under Thai

5 responses to “Thai Riffic

  1. Pingback: Surco Super | Madison Street Eats

  2. Amazing blog guys, you guys rock my socks! I love new blogs! Creative posts!

  3. Becca

    Thainamite in Milwaukee has amazing Thai Ice Tea and delicious Thai & Sushi… I shall take you there this summer!

  4. Pingback: Hard To Pronounce, Delicious to Eat | Madison Street Eats

  5. Pingback: Luangprabang Thai Food | Madison Street Eats

Leave a comment