Good Food

Cart Name Speaks The Truth
Location: Corner of East Main and South Pinckney Street (Capitol Square)
By: Kailey

A beautiful Madison day deserves a delicious meal. The sun was shining and Capitol Square was crowded so I went to the food cart with no line: the Good Food cart. They specialize in wraps and salads with fresh ingredients and have changing specials (the Blackberry Salad when I was there) as well as Sweet Thai Chili. I asked the chef what she suggested and she recommended the Gourmet Greek wrap-I was still recovering from my dismal gyro from Mediterranean Cuisine so I skipped that and got the Turkey Club wrap. You could choose your sauce and fillings. I’m bad at making decisions so I said “I’ll take everything.” Very smooth of me.

The Good Food cart

The lady asked me for my name so she could notify me when my order was ready. I was the only person there so this seemed a bit silly but it was a nice personal touch. I paid my $6.75 and waited about two minutes before being handed my lunch.
The tortilla was stuffed with fresh lettuce, tasty turkey, crunchy bacon, red onions, juicy tomatoes, sweet honey mustard sauce, cucumbers AND pickles. And it was delicious. Really incredible. All the ingredients meshed together really well making a simple meal satisfying. I announced how great my lunch was after every bite to annoy my champions who were chewing on their not-so-great food cart selections.

My Turkey Club wrap from Good Food. It's OK to be jealous.

The wrap wasn’t very big (bigger than Lisa’s mini one though) and it didn’t leave me full but that is a trend I’ve been noticing among our food cart explorations. Maybe those sides like cookies or chips are worth investing in. I also think it was a little pricey but I expect to pay a little more for fresh ingredients. I can’t wait to visit again and try a yummy looking salad.

I would like to give Good Food wraps extra props for portability-I could roll the foil off the tightly wrapped tortilla as I ate. This prevented the honey mustard sauce from dripping on my hands and clothes and, for me, using no napkins during a meal is an extraordinary feat. Usually only obtained when eating something like cereal. Or gum.

Deliciousness: 5/5 plates

Price: 3/5 plates

Speed: 3/5 plates

Authenticity/Originality: 4/5 plates

OVERALL: 4/5 plates

3 Comments

Filed under Sandwiches

3 responses to “Good Food

  1. Duane

    Looks real tastey, next time I’m in Madison I want to try one.

  2. Pingback: Best Burrito on a Budget | Madison Street Eats

  3. Pingback: Blowin’ Smoke Barbeque | Madison Street Eats

Leave a Reply

